Library Board

The Library Board meets on the second Thursday of the month at 7 pm. The public is invited to come. If you have an agenda item you wish to be added, please contact Library Administration with your request two weeks in advance of the scheduled meeting.

Petitions for Candidacy

Courtesy Petitions for Candidacy for two (2) Library Trustee seats will be available beginning at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at the Cary Area Public Library, located at 1606 Three Oaks Road. The first day to circulate nomination papers is September 18, 2018. The term of office for each Library Trustee position is six (6) years.

To qualify to hold office a candidate must:

  • Be a registered voter in the Cary Area Public Library District
  • Have resided in the Library District at least one year at the time of filing nomination papers or a declaration of intent to become a write-in candidate
  • Not be in arrears in the payment of any tax or other indebtedness due to the Library District
  • Not have been convicted in any court located in the United States of any infamous crime, bribery, perjury or other felony

Petition filing will begin at 9 am on December 10, 2018, and will close at 5 pm on Monday, December 17, 2018. The Library will be open from 9 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday to receive filings.


Notice is hereby given that the office of Secretary, Board of Trustees, Cary Area Public Library District will be open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday, December 10, 2016 through Monday, December 17, 2016 for the purpose of accepting candidate petitions or certificates for the Consolidated Election to be held on April 2, 2019 for the following offices:


Library Trustee 6 year term

Library Trustee 6 year term

Teresa Sigsworth,

Library Budget for Fiscal year 2018-2019

Tax Levy FAQs

Contact the Library Board

President: Jan Polep (term expires 2021, McHenry Co.)
Vice-President: Scott Migaldi (term expires 2023, McHenry Co.)
Treasurer: Barbara Kalchbrenner (term expires 2019, Lake Co.)
Secretary: Teresa Sigsworth (term expires 2021, McHenry Co.)
Member: George England (term expires 2019, McHenry Co.)
Member: Jason Pinshower (term expires 2023, McHenry Co.)
Member: Allison Richmond (term expires 2023, McHenry Co.)

2019 Agendas:
Jan | Feb | Feb COW | Mar 1 Special| Mar 6 Special | Mar 19

2018 Agendas:
Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr  | May | May COW | Jun| Jun COW | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec

2019 Minutes:
Jan | Feb | Feb COW |

2018 Minutes:
Jan | Feb |Mar | Apr |May| May COW | Jun | Jun COW | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec

Archive of Agendas and Minutes